Overdrawn

My budget for this week was $15.64 and I have spent . . . $15.93.

Noooooooooooo.

This means that I am $0.29 in the negative, so I’ll start next week with only $9.71.

However, I I feel no regret and this is why.
1. Cereal was on sale at Aldi, so I bought two boxes, which will probably last well into week four, and I saved $0.60 on each box!
2. I bought more milk so that I don’t have to go back to the store just for milk when mine runs out in 2-3 days. This will also last into week four.
3. Aldi also had some old Christmas items on sale, which included giant chocolate santas, shortbread cookies, and chocolate covered pretzels. Each of those items was a cool twenty-five cents. They are not healthy, but they will be great to take in my lunches and their calorie per dollar figures are very high.

Seventy-five cents (plus about three cents tax) for 2620 calories of mostly fat, a tiny amount of protein, and negligible amounts of anything else useful. (Or 3359 kcal/$)
Seventy-five cents (plus about three cents tax) for 2620 calories of mostly fat, a tiny amount of protein, and negligible amounts of anything else useful.

The other two items I bought this round were bananas (2) and polish sausage. The polish sausage was $1.99 for seven servings, and though it has a little less protein per serving than the canned sausages, it’s calorie per dollar count was higher. It also tastes much better than canned sausages. The bananas are similar to apples when it comes to cost versus calories, so even though I have many apples remaining, I got bananas to add some variety.

Quick update on the calorie count – yesterday I got to around 2100, which includes a little bit of the chocolate santa. I had two servings of vegetables, one serving of fruit, one serving of meat, two servings of dairy, and 3.5 servings of grains. Not too shabby.

Week three starts on Wednesday. Since I don’t have to worry about staple items for a while, next week’s allotment will probably be spent on veggies, peanut butter, and maybe a little more meat.

 

Leave a Reply

