$50 Food Month (Day 6)

It’s almost the end of week one and things are going fairly well. Since the two weekend days didn’t count because I was visiting my mom, today was day 6. I forgot that I had a meeting/potluck to go to this evening, so I had to come up with something to bring. I had a muffin mix in the cupboard that my sister gave me a little while back, and I already had milk to make it that I bought as a part of $50 food month, so I figured that was acceptable. Plus I got a meal of more diverse foods, including grapes and a weird cool soup.

Based off of my estimations for tomorrow, this is what I think I will have left at the end of week one:

1 serving peaches
5 servings pasta
3 servings pasta sauce
3 eggs
1 serving green beans
2 servings broccoli
1/2 jar peanut butter
1/3 gallon of milk
1/4 box of cereal
parmesan cheese
canola oil

Seems like a pretty good start to week two. I have a plan for what to get this next week, but I’m open to suggestions. The budget is $15.64 ($15 for week two – $5 less each week – plus $0.64 unused from week one) for week two, and this is what I’m thinking for its use:

Cereal: $1.95
Milk: $1.90
Bag of apples: $2.00
Loaf of bread: $1.00
Frozen broccoli: $1.50
Soy or oyster sauce: $2.00
Rice: $1.00
Carton of eggs: $1.50

That would total $12.85, giving me $2.79 to spare. Whoo! The downside to this plan is that my lunches remain largely the same – PB&J and a fruit and perhaps a hard-boiled egg. But the dinners will be more diverse, with options for pasta with two sauce types and rice with broccoli. Maybe I can find some meat for $2.79 or less, or maybe different veggies would be a better option.

Anyway, since I still have some things, I’ll probably only start with half of the above list and maybe modify it later.

2 thoughts on “$50 Food Month (Day 6)

  1. Based on those ingredients, you could also have stir fry (veggies, eggs, rice, soy sauce), or asian noodles (toss spaghetti noodles in sauce made from peanut butter, soy sauce, brown sugar, and optional garlic, ginger and siracha). Cheap protein source — grab a whole chicken; that is probably around a weeks worth of protein, and then you can make stock for cheap soups as well.

    Like

Leave a Reply

