Days 3 & 4

I talked to my dad on the phone and he expressed concern that I won’t get enough protein during $50 food month. According to the internet I need 46 grams per day. I was interested to see how I was doing, and discovered that most of the things I am eating have at least a little bit of protein in them.

Day 3
1.5 glasses of milk: 12g
1.5 eggs: 9g
1.5 serving pasta: 10.5g
1 serving parm cheese: 2g
1 serving broccoli
2 bowls of cereal: 4g
1 banana: 1g
2 slices of bread: 4g
½ serving peanut butter: 2.5g
TOT: 47g

The 0.5 egg was the pasta sauce that was leftover from the day before. The pasta has a surprisingly high amount of protein, which is nice. Mandarin oranges apparently have no protein.

Day 4
2 servings pasta: 14g
1 serving pasta sauce: 2g
1 serving parm cheese: 2g
2 bowls of cereal: 4g
1.5 glasses of milk: 12g
1 banana: 1g
2 slices of bread: 4g
½ serving peanut butter: 2.5g
TOT: 41.5

Some of those numbers are slightly estimated as I don’t measure exactly how much pasta, cereal, or milk I use. I think the estimates are fair, though, which means that overall I’m achieving close to the correct amount of protein.

The meals sound really boring when you look at them like this, but I’m not tired of them yet. I just realized that I forgot to eat any vegetables today. Extra tomorrow, then!

Overall I’m feeling pretty good for it being the end of day four. My meals are slightly varied (except for the PB&J – maybe I’ll get another banana and make a PBJ&B sandwich) and I have a lot of things left. I’m only completely out of the mandarin oranges and the bananas. From the other items, the only thing I’ve used more than half of is the bread, so I think that’s a good sign. Plus, I still have $0.64 left for this week! Unless I come up with a really inexpensive addition to the plan, it will probably roll into next week, so I’ll start that week with a budget of $15.64.

The canola oil is going to last much longer than one month.

Leave a Reply

